Padarn United 3 v 3 Bow Street Res

Cambrian Tyres League – Division 1

Saturday 26/08

On a scorching afternoon at Llety Gwyn the points were shared in an entertaining encounter. With both teams being involved in 5-2 scorelines in their previous games this was always going to promise goals.

With the Reserves back-line depleted, veterans Pete James and Stephen Harrison were drafted in alongside first teamer Neil Evans, who was making his first start of the season after picking up an injury in pre-season.

The Magpies started brightly enough creating a few half chances, but Padarn were looking threatening on the break. It was the Magpies who made the break through when Shaun Jones scored a tap-in. The game changed either side of half-time though. Padarn leveled things up just before the break when a cross was turned into his own net by the unfortunate Stephen Harrison. Minutes after the start of the second half Padarn took a deserved lead when the right-back stormed through the midfield before unleashing an unstoppable strike into the top left-hand corner.

This seemed to wake the Magpies up, although Padarn were still creating plenty of half chances on the counter attack. The Magpies leveled on the hour mark when Gethin ap Dafydd grabbed the equaliser, for his third goal in three games. With quarter of an hour to go Shaun Jones netter his second of the game to give the Magpies a lead. The game at this point was end to end, and although Street tried to tighten things up at the back it was Padarn that grabbed their deserved equaliser when a goalmouth scramble was eventually turned in by their right back for his second of the game.

Street can count themselves lucky as Padarn could have easily grabbed all three points having hit the bar and having a shot cleared off the line. Next up for the Magpies is away to high-flying Tregaron Turfs on Wednesday night.

Team: Rhys Evans, Neil Evans, Pete James, Stephen Harrison, Gethin ap Dafydd, Justin Quinn, Iolo ap Dafydd, Ryan Evans, Nick Smith, Guto Havard, Shaun Jones

Subs: Sion Manley, Ian Evans, Joe Williams, Josh Sitch