Junior Tournament 2007


Click here to see pictures from the Bow Street FC Junior Football Tournament 2007

Large numbers of participants and supporters turned up for the fifth staging of the annual Bow Street Junior Football Tournament on 14 & 15 of July. Persistent rain throughout the previous week had not dampened the enthusiasm of the organisers or visitors, and the event was fortunate that the weather remained dry, sometimes sunny for the duration.

This year’s tournament was again kindly sponsored by Salop Leisure, and the large crowds were treated to a thrilling two days of enjoyable and competitive football.In excess of 70 teams participated in this year’s festival, a record entry, with teams ranging from as far apart as Caernarfon and Tenby.

Bow Street Chairman Wyn Lewis said, ‘This was another extremely successful tournament, and we are grateful to all who participated and attended. The numbers participating is increasing every year, and what is pleasing is that the interest is growing in areas outside Ceredigion and Mid Wales. It is nice to see that a side from the Caernarfon area won one of the competitions, and that two teams from Pembrokeshire succeeded in getting through to the finals.

‘Of course, it is nice to see that some local teams did well, and we as a club are especially delighted that our under 11’s team were successful. I wish to thank our committee members and volunteers for all the hard work carried out over the two days, and in the preparation in advance. It is fair to say that we all had a great deal of fun and enjoyment at the 2007 tournament.’


Boys under 7

Winners – Dyffryn Nantlle
Runners Up – Llanybydder
Player of the category – Dewi Williams (Dyffryn Nantlle)

Boys under 9

Winners – Bro Dysynni
Runners Up – Prendegast
Player of the category – Patrick Pearce (Prendegast Villa)

Boys under 11

Winners – Bow Street
Runners Up – Tenby
Player of the category – Stephen Williams (Bow Street)

Boys under 13

Winners – Summer Soccer
Runners Up – Felinfach
Player of the category – Sam Williams (Bro Dysynni)

Boys under 15

Winners – Penrhyncoch
Runners Up – Camrose
Player of the category – Josh (Penrhyncoch)

Girls under 11

Winners – Llanybydder
Runners Up – Bow Street
Player of the category – Lowri Walker (Bow Street)

Girls under 14

Winners – Llanidloes
Runners Up – Talybont
Player of the category – Nicky Bockling (Llandloes)

The Mark Horwood Memorial trophy is awarded on each day to the ‘local’ player of the tournament. The winners this year were:-

Saturday – Stephen Williams (Bow Street)
Sunday – Lowri Walker ( Bow Street )