Bow Street 4 v 3 Welshpool Town

Garmon Nutting lifts the Spar League Cup trophy.
Garmon Nutting lifts the Spar League Cup trophy. Photo courtesy of Colin Ewart.
Spar League Cup – Final

Saturday 26/05

Bow Street made history on Saturday as they won the Spar Mid Wales League Cup for the first tme by defeating Welshpool 4 3 in an enthralling cup final at a sun drenched Carno. After losing out in four previous finals, the Magpies at last were able to celebrate the biggest win in their history.

It did not start well as Welshpool took the lead through a Adam Davies header after only 3 minutes. This stirred the Magpies, and following an intense period of pressure, Llion Jenkins equalised. Then a bizarre series of events led to Welshpool scoring an own goal to put Bow Street 2 1 up, followed by a magnificent left foot strike by Tom Williams to increase the lead. It was all Bow Street at this stage and the Welshpool goalkeeper made three sensational saves to keep his side in the game. Then on the stroke of half time, out of the blue, Welshpool got a goal back through Ricky Litchfield.

Ifan Burrell scores the winning goal in the Spar Mid Wales League Cup final.
Ifan Burrell scores the winning goal in the Spar Mid Wales League Cup final. Photo courtesy of Colin Ewart.
Bow Street still had more possession and posed the greater threat in the second half, but Welshpool equalised twenty minutes in through Adam Davies. The winning goal came five minutes from the end scored by Ifan Burrell who finished superbly. The final whistle sparked joyous scenes among the players and the huge Bow Street presence in the crowd and there was a rapturous reception for captain Garmon Nutting as he lifted the coveted trophy.

Manager Barry Williams said, ‘As far as today’s game is concerned, we should have sealed the result in the first half, but we allowed Welshpool back in to the game. Ifan’s goal at the end brought both relief and joy! I am so delighted for all involved with a club, and I can’t compliment the players enough for their efforts this season. The 18 players in the first team squad have a fantastic spirit of togetherness which I hope will hold us in good stead for future seasons. I also want to place on record my sincere thanks to my managerial ‘mates’ Rich Lucas and Dylan James.’

Chairman Wyn Lewis added, ‘We have waited a long time for this cup, -The Holy Grail! After the heartache of the four lost finals, this is so sweet. I congratulate the management and the players whose commitment to the club is phenomenal. I would also like to thank our magnificent supporters who turned out in huge numbers. It has been a momentous week with the Reserves winning the league and the Len & Julia Newman cup. Again, congratulations to Rhodri Jones and Leighton Reynolds, the Management team and the players of the Reserves on a phenomenal season for them. This is a very happy football club, long may it continue!

Team: Llyr Hughes, Tom Evans, Matt Pemberthy, Stefano Antoniazzi, Neil Evans, Garmon Nutting, Andrew Gittins, LLion Jenkins, Mark Gornall, Ifan Burrell, Tom Williams

Subs: Owen Roberts-Young, Steff Richards, Rhun Garner, Callum Ferreira